My brand new Toys, the Falcon Eyes 928 had just arrived!
My brand new Toys, the Falcon Eyes 928 had just arrived!

Utilising 19th century image-making processes seems to have a great thirst for light. I thought at first it was the optics, but I suppose it’s the methodology as well. Of course things could go the way it is when using the LED UV which I had presented before (refer to the previous blog post here).

Though I understand its limitation.I just can’t reach what I want with just the LED UV. It’s good to have it as a mix-lighting (natural and LED) to pump-up the whites, pull out the contrast. But what I desire was the good white, proper contrast to reach for the image I want. I want to make portraits, but the feeble attempt to utilise just whatever the overcast from the windows and mix with the LED UV seems to fare between 30 seconds upwards, no faster than that.

Today, (well it was ordered a week ago) I had decided to splurge a bit to give in to finally purchasing the Falcon Eyes 928. After a year or so procastinating, I finally gave in and go for it. I have to thank Mark Voce for his recommendations about it. Though there are other cheaper sets that could be bought, such as the Interfit or various no-name brands, but I had enough bad share of broken devices or short-lived and just piling up in the storage.

More extensive reviews of the Falcon Eyes could be read from Alex Timmerman’s blog post here: http://collodion-art.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/i-have-seen-light_15.html

Also reviewed by Indra Moonen: https://contrastique.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/the-big-collodion-test/

Another by Kasia Kesicka: http://www.kasiakesicka.com/blog/wet-plate-collodion/fake-sun-in-search-of-artificial-lighting-for-collodion/

Also various shares which came from the Collodion groups via Facebook and forums which I think most of them are comfortable in using these for their work. So I decided to go ahead to get one from Fotosense, which I think it’s the only company in the UK that sells them (so far).

Refer to their site here: http://www.fotosense.co.uk/falcon-eyes-lhd-b928fsk-twin-daylight-octabox-80cm-kit-1260w.html

Though these lightings do appear from time to time on eBay, I might as well just get it over with…

This blog post isn’t about how the lights perform, as these were reviewed and compared with various other lightings & collodion salts as provided by Alex & Indra’s blog posts. Just a brief review what I get from this package.

The lightings came in 2 boxes, all well packed and delivered without much hassle from the courier
The lightings came in 2 boxes, all well packed and delivered without much hassle from the courier
Two bags of softbox, which also comes with the frames and diffusers (4 extra frames just in case you break them). 2 FE-928 lightings, 2 lighting stands, a pair of EU power plugs and another pair for UK plugs. 18 spiral bulbs: 28W 5500K
Two bags of softbox, which also comes with the frames and diffusers (4 extra frames just in case you break them). 2 FE-928 lightings, 2 lighting stands, a pair of EU power plugs and another pair for UK plugs. 18 spiral bulbs: 28W 5500K
The FE-928 lighting is abit 'plasticky' to my liking, but the built and material is pretty much contributes to its lightweight. Though I prefer if its more of carbon material instead.
The FE-928 lighting is abit ‘plasticky’ to my liking, but the built and material is pretty much contributes to its lightweight. Though I prefer if its more of carbon material instead.
The layout of switches are solid and well marked to indicate which bulb it will turn on. It's about 10 inches in diameter which is quite compact.
The layout of switches are solid and well marked to indicate which bulb it will turn on. It’s about 10 inches in diameter which is quite compact.
The fitting of the 80cm softbox was a bit tricky, doable if you know where to begin with the fitting and pulling in the material. Though I don't see myself dismantling them to bring it around as it might overstress the frames
The fitting of the 80cm softbox was a bit tricky, doable if you know where to begin with the fitting and pulling in the material. Though I don’t see myself dismantling them to bring it around as it might overstress the frames
It looks as what the tin advertise, though the bulb seems to be somewhat weaker cast on the first minute. I will give it a try tomorrow to see if it needs replacing for better ones.
It looks as what the tin advertise, though the bulb seems to be somewhat weaker cast on the first minute. I will give it a try tomorrow to see if it needs replacing for better ones.
