Carboot sale in Exeter
Carboot sale in Exeter

Every Sunday for some, is a ritual affair, the carboot sale! Every other week, most of the sellers vary and the prices would be too as it is from place to place. Prices differ from one place to the next. However what was noticeable was if the carboot event is further away from the big cities, the cheaper (and much friendlier) the sellers would be.

The last weekend was like any other day for a carboot, thought it had rained heavily in the morning, just briefly, but enough time for me to hop over across town to another to see what treasures (which becomes junk in future…).

What caught my attention was a couple of half-plate holders that was on one of the sellers tables (too bad, no camera!). For a couple of quid, it wasn’t a bad deal. Though usually I won’t bother too much with quarter plate holders as they are ample and common find formost wooden camera users.

What was different about this was it had an insignia… might be too fancy of description, but it is a crest on the plate holder.

A pair of Quarter plate holders purchased for a few coins with interesting features.
A pair of Quarter plate holders purchased for a few coins with interesting features.

It was badly tarnished, barely much to read unless looked at an angle with the light source which provides the shadow to assemble somewhat enough pattern of what was left of its design.

An unusual crest, which I am still trying to figure out the design and the letter at the bottom of the shield (either "L" or "B" so far on brief observation)
An unusual crest, which I am still trying to figure out the design and the letter at the bottom of the shield (either “L” or “B” so far on brief observation)

The brass bits were abit thicker than usual, the wood wasn’t in good condition, but still works as it should. Though I do lover the tight dual recesses on the sides for it to ease of it sliding into the camera (now I do wish the camera was there!)

The dual groves on the sides with brass recess to lock a hinge onto the camera body.
The dual groves on the sides with brass recess to lock a hinge onto the camera body.

I had recently noticed indented scrawl / scratches on bothe sides of the plate holders, which I believed of it to be the owner / photographer’s name on it. I couldn’t make it out at this point, but I will try to read those curvasive letters, hoping to catch the name(s).

Two words on one side of the plate holder, what I could manage so far with my eyes what it seemed to be "Lady ...."
Two words on one side of the plate holder, what I could manage so far with my eyes what it seemed to be “Lady ….”
The rear panel had another name scrawled on its surface as well, which what I could read so far was "S.... P..."
The rear panel had another name scrawled on its surface as well, which what I could read so far was “S…. P…” (Samuel?)
