I had been blessed today with the presence of Sean Hawkey and his sons, Sean Gerald and Joe. Sean’s  a fantastic photographer and humanitarian activist who had explored various parts of the world. A gentleman explorer which are far and few. He’s also a collodion artist who had fantastic exhibition of works which covers the silver mine workers in Peru. Nonetheless, I love his intimate portraiture of the people of the streets and projects which gave more glimpse of blue-collared workers’ life beyond their daily struggle. One could tell the comfort of his presence in his images, and welcoming eyes from his subjects for him to engage in meaningful conversation and certainly the trust.

This was true even for me, being a stranger in this land but only a few would ask of my days here in the UK.

Left: Sean Gerald, Sean Hawkeye, and Joe (myself hidden behind him in the darkbox)
Left: Sean Gerald, Sean Hawkey, and Joe (myself hidden behind him in the darkbox)

Sean’s much welcoming presence in my home / mini-studio, which I had a brief chance to quickly make several plates (not that quick with the wet plate!). We had a bit of lunch and shared small stories of what we do and a bit of wet plate ventures. It is a rare treat for me receiving visitors, as I had been on a reclusive life since the doing my doctorate thesis in 2010. Though my life on the move will change indefinitely soon.

Sean Hawkeye and myself.
Sean Hawkey and myself.

Some of the initials plates were abit under-exposed, and with day like today, the sun were shy and the city was covered in fog, had reduced much of the needed light. Though the exposure were rendered at 10 seconds, I came with a few acceptable plates which one I appreciate to keep.

Left: Sean Gerald, Sean Hawkeye, and Joe.
Left: Sean Gerald, Sean Hawkey, and Joe.

See here for a great coverage of Sean’s Peru’s mine collodion ventures by the New York Times

Learn more of Sean Hawkey’s work from his website here.

There will be more ventures from his as we spoke for his future projects utilising 19th Century processes, which I am very eager to see and wait for (and the community as well!).

