I was invited a few weeks ago to do a demonstration to private high school students of the Idrissi International School, to give an insight into early photographic process. I was very excited to have a chance to give a talk, the first for me to have an audience of young age here.

idrissi_demo_wet_plate-1

The usual preparations were made, silver bath maintained, the Collodion salts mixed, and the usual 50 kg of gears since I will be bringing in my good old 10×12 camera (which I named ‘Lekir’). The gears were set a day before just to lessen the burden of an hour set-up as we start at 8 in the morning.

idrissi_demo_wet_plate-3

Given an entire morning to deliver two sessions in front of at least 40 students, the set-up, the tests, and the talk, the demonstration of individual plates, group shots (yes, 2 group shots), the breakdown, the packing of my gears back into the car (the ‘Tetris’ game training during my youth comes in handy here).

However hectic it was; the chance to show how plates were made, especially when this sort of image-making is a rare thing to happen around this area, it was a pleasure of mine and there were tons of questions asked. Mostly were about the science behind it; optics, chemistries, with a dash of ‘arty’ bits at the end.

The midday ended up well and I did have a good time. It was tiring certainly, as it was a double session cramped into a long 4 hours almost non-stop collodion talk and sessions.

Like always, I slept so soundly after a good Collodion day.

